Posted in Movies & TV series, Reviews

My 5 Favorite Movie Weddings (so far)

Source: D23.com

It’s the last day of June and I have seen my share of different weddings both physical and social media postings by friends and acquaintances. From a simple intimate yacht ceremony to a grand celebration with three different nuptial gowns, I enjoyed seeing the cheery mood and aesthetics, but most importantly, the love shared between two people I care about.

Wedding movies are also lovely especially when you are invested in the characters involved. Over the years, I have seen many films with wedding scenes with astounding decorations and drool-worthy wedding gowns that I too wanted to have when I get married. But as aging kicked in, I realized that there’s more to cascading flower arrangements, puffy dresses and handsome grooms. It’s the story which lead to that momentous occasion that makes a movie wedding beautiful and moving.

So here are my five favorite movie weddings:

  1. Bryan & Annie – Father of the Bride.
Image: brides.com

I guess every father of a little girl is dreading the day she gets married just like Steve Martin’s character. I first watched the film when I was in grade school, and I have little understanding of the whole emotional aspect of it. But what I know back then was that I wanted to wear the customized sneakers Annie had on my wedding one day – Oh, my parents renewed their wedding vows at Cana, and guess what? My mom wore a stylish pair of wedding sneakers! I rewatched the film recently and I love how splendid the ceremony and celebration are in the 90s context. It’s a heartfelt film that still makes me cry thinking about how my dad would feel on my wedding day.

2. Matty & Jenna – 13 Going 30

Image: Netflix

Their wedding at “13 Going 30” wasn’t as glamorous but seeing in the movie how Jenna Rink tried to rebuild her ties and almost lost her chance to be with her childhood best friend Matty, made this event all genuine and one of my all-time favorite happy endings. I was a weepy-happy mess when I watched this way back in college. And seeing the onscreen reunion of Jennifer Garner and Mark Ruffalo at “The Adam Project” brought me the kilig feels all over again that I had to rewatch it in Netflix.

3. Edward and Bella – Breaking Dawn Part 1

Image: fanpop.com

A lot of people may hate the Twilight films but I enjoyed them, especially Edward and Bella’s ethereal ceremony in the forest. I mean look at the marvelous flower arch and the overall outdoor theme… I too can steal an idea or two from this gorgeousness. I also loved Bella’s elegant silk gown here, it’s classy and exquisite I’d wear that too on my wedding… just minus the vampire groom though, even if he’s Rob Pattinson.

4. Colin and Araminta – Crazy Rich Asians

This is one of the biggest all-Asian cast films that blew the cinemas away when it was released in 2018. The grand display of opulence among the old rich families of Singapore would definitely leave your jaw on the floor. One of the highlights of this movie is Colin and Araminta’s magnificent wedding. From the all-expense-paid bachelor and bachelorette parties to the actual ceremony at the heart of Singapore, everything about this ‘wedding of the year’ screamed luxurious. The details were just divine – the chapel was decorated in lush greens and colorful orchids, Araminta’s dainty entrance to a watery aisle, to her unique dress adorned with gold embroidery which accentuated her stunning figure. I must say this is one of the most memorable movie weddings to date.

5. Victor and Emily – The Corpse Bride

Image: IMDb

If I haven’t said this enough, stop-motion films have a special place in my heart and The Corpse Bride is one of them. It’s not just the intricate sets, brilliant music and the dark humor that I adore about this film, the story itself is quite interesting. Having two brides fighting over a groom with one alive and one dead is not something you get every day. I love how Victor stood up to fulfill his promise and set Emily’s spirit free from being bound on earth by marrying her. Yes, Emily’s body may be decayed dressed in a tattered wedding gown, but I just love how captivating and sincere their wedding vows are…

“With this hand, I will lift your sorrows.

Your cup will never be empty for I will be your wine.

With this candle, I will light your way in the darkness.

With this ring, I ask you to be mine.”

I might use these vows too, honestly. And if you don’t find this romantic then you’re probably dead.

Honorable mentions: Carl & Ellie (Up), Queen Clarisse & Joe (The Princess Diaries 2), and Fix-It-Felix & Sergeant Calhoun (Wreck-It Ralph)